Facts About Swans

Swans are birds of the family Anatidae within the genus Cygnus. The swans’ close relatives include the geese and ducks. Swans are grouped with the closely related geese in the subfamily Anserinae where they form the tribe Cygnini.

  • There are six to seven species of swans.
  • Swans usually mate for life, though ‘divorce’ does occur sometimes.
  • The number of eggs in each clutch ranges from three to eight.
  • Swans are usually 1.5 m (60 inches) long.
  • Swans weight 15 kg (33 pounds) but males are generally bigger and heavier than females.
  • The swans are the largest members of the waterfowl family.
  • The swans are generally found in temperate environments, rarely occurring in the tropics.
  • A group of swans is called a bevy or a wedge in flight.
  • Swans are almost entirely herbivorous, although they may eat small amounts of aquatic animals.
  • Average egg size (for the mute swan) is 113×74 mm, weighing 340 g.

About Maryam

Add Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Recent Post

Subscribe for Our Newsletter

Get in Touch with us!